Five Principals of Schools Where Teaching Matters

Public voting has closed for the 2012 Elizabeth Rohatyn Prize for Schools Where Teaching Matters and the following five Finalists have been determined!

Evelyn Finn, Lavelle Preparatory Charter School, Staten Island, NY
Extensive and intensive training program for newly hired teachers emphasizing behavioral strategies, core content, pedagogy and more.

Cynthia Fowlkes, Academy of InnovativeTechnology HS, Brooklyn, NY
Peer observation process whereby teachers collaborate in content and grade level teams to improve student outcomes using Danielson Rubric (teacher evalmetric).  Teachers regularly observe peers and make recommendations related to practice. 

Rose Kerr, Staten Island School of Civic Leadership, Staten Island, NY
"Triad Model," a teacher effectiveness initiative puts three teachers in charge of comprehensive instruction of two classes, allowing them to share responsibility to analyze student performance, develop interventions and create learning opportunities.

Christopher Lehmann, Science Leadership Academy, Philadelphia, PA
Inquiry-driven and project-based approach, using tech tools to allow all members of the school community to learn - students, teachers, parents.

Shimon Waronker, New American Academy, Brooklyn, NY
Unique human capital model that incorporates a career ladder for teachers anddaily collaboration in teams led by a master teacher.

The public began voting June 13th for a principal from the New York metropolitan area that could win the 2012 Elizabeth Rohatyn Prize for Schools Where Teaching Matters. The voting narrowed down the list of ten Semi-finalists down to five and in the coming weeks the impartial selection committee will select the final winner. The winner will be announced at the 2012 Summer Forum for Principals with Paul Vallas. If you would like to register for this event please click here.

"Leading principals understand that effective teaching is the lynchpin to closing the achievement gap," said Lynette Guastaferro, Executive Director of Teaching Matters, a nonprofit educational organization that sponsors the prize. "They are rethinking time, creating effective teaming strategies, and positioning effective teachers to lead the charge. These leaders deserve recognition and they need more flexibility."

The projects launched by the finalists include: creating a career ladder where teachers advance from novice to master level; reorganizing the school day so teachers have time to collaborate; and helping teachers film their classroom instruction so that they can improve their teaching strategies.

“Participating in the discussion of innovation in New York schools reminded me once again how so many are committed to positive change,” said Fred Frelow, Program Officer for the Ford Foundation, who is one of the judges in the competition.

The Rohatyn Prize is underwritten by the Elizabeth Rohatyn Innovation Fund. Driven by the belief that teachers are the most important school-related factor in raising student achievement, Mrs. Rohatyn, a champion of innovation and education, joined forces with former teachers, principals, and technology experts to found Teaching Matters in 1994.